Opinions with Civility
HOT TOPICS

Sahlberg: Sun City banner needs to be replaced

I’m sending you another plea for a new Sun City flag at the corner of Grand and 107th avenues.

Romain: Sun City bikers error should have been caught

Until recently, I was the news writer for the Palo Verde Artists in Sun City and wrote all of their articles for more than three years.

Duncan: Property tax break is available for some in Sun City

The Mission of the Sun City Community Assistance Network is to, “Connect people with resources to enhance their standard of living.”

Boyles: Reflecting on impotent society

I was on hold for 45 minutes before a gruff customer service representative snapped, “Can I help you?”

Wortman: SCHOA should be mandatory for Sun City residents

Thank you for your informative and well written article (“Filling the SCHOA roster,” Sun City Independent, Marh 31, 2021).

Beaton: Pet owners should take poop bags in Sun City

To whom it may concern. Parks and Sons will not take the dog poop bag out of anyone’s trash can.

Harmer: Reader wants people to take responsibility in Sun City

Again I feel compelled to chime in on another of your articles. This one, to me, is really about what’s right and common sense.

Moore: Resident offers suggestions for short rentals in Sun City

Here is my opinion and suggestions for the Sun City Home Owners Association about the “short term rentals” debate.

Griswold: Rescue plan does not help most in Sun City

The recently enacted “American Rescue Plan” does not provide help directly to Sun City, because we are unincorporated.
beach huts and dunes

Pratt: Short-term rentals bring in problems to Sun City

I live in Sun City near 99th Avenue and Royal Oak.

Bergen: More to worry about in Sun City

I think Sun City has more important things to worry about.

Sun City Posse looking for more volunteers

This year-long pandemic has put the skids on most of what life was like in Sun City. But no more!

Amaro: Hope SCHOA enforces short term rentals in Sun City

Thank you for asking for input from Sun City residents regarding short-term rental properties (“Short term rentals on hot seat,” Sun City Independent, March 10, 2021).

Wilson: RCSC continues to be patient with COVID restrictions in Sun City

When will we lift all restrictions at RCSC? When will we allow guests at RCSC facilities? These are questions the board of directors get asked in emails or hear frequently at board meetings. I can guarantee that every board member and every senior management staff member would love to go back to normal, but that is not the safe thing to do right now.

Harmer: Vehicles at some homes out of hand in Sun City

This is my first time taking action like this but as a Sun City homeowner I have concerns as well.
Larry Kubiayk, also known as  “Ol Porch Dog," is a resident of Sun City.

“Ol Porch Dog” thanks Independent

Just wanted to thank Steve Stockmar for the story on my gig at Winery 101 recently. It was a great success and no small part due to him. There were people there that said they had seen the story …

Powell: Supports short rental legislation

I support legislation that regulates short-term rentals to owner-occupied homes (“Short term rentals on hot seat,” Sun City Independent, March 10, 2021) during the rental and that renters meet the various CC&Rs that maintain the restricted age limitations that make Sun City an attractive residential choice for seniors.

Caouette: Short rentals not appropriate in Sun City residential areas

Short term rentals (aka Airbnb or vrbo) are businesses and don’t belong in residential zones(“Short term rentals on hot seat,” Sun City Independent, March 10, 2021). This shouldn’t be complicated, it is a zoning issue.

Forrest: Restrictions were draw for Sun City

We purchased property in Sun City for the relaxing atmosphere, no out of control parties, no noise produced by people who have no respect for others and no cars racing down the streets at all hours, plus property management companies that work with the HOAs to maintain the communities.

Gray: There are responsibilities to ownership in Sun City

The idea that anyone should be able to do anything they want with their property is just selfishness.

Depesquale: Volunteers get thanks for work in Sun City

A big thank you for all the AARP tax volunteers for your time and patience in getting the seniors returns done.

Good golf starts with the grip

In golf, one of the most overlooked areas of importance is how you hold the club.

Lamont: Patient gets good treatment at hospital

I recently experience a health issue, which was very serious. This letter is about MD Anderson Cancer Center and Banner Del E. Webb Medical Center, both at 14502 W. Meeker, Blvd., Sun City West.

Turk: Only wants Sun City guest policy changed

I believe the letter (“Restrictions should stay in place,” Sun City Independent, March 3, 2021) was directed at me so I feel compelled to respond.

Sherman: Keep Sun City board sessions open to residents

I am opposed to closed meetings by the Recreation Centers of Sun City board.

Duncan: Looking for more ‘Larrys’ in Sun City

A month or so ago, I got a phone call out of the blue from a guy named Larry. He heard about Sun City Community Assistance Network’s Paint the Town program.

Victor: Sun Cities Relay for Life turns out well

Thank you to all of the individuals who joined us Feb. 21 for the Ninth Annual American Cancer Society Relay for Life of the Sun Cities drive-through in the Sun City West Foundation parking lot.

Hunter: City of Volunteers? Proud to be one in Sun City

As Sun City Home Owners Association Board of Directors president, it has been my pleasure to have the opportunity to meet so many wonderful people who give some of their time to the betterment of our community.
Most of Arizona is covered by local mandates that require wearing a mask.

Lux: Come on, just wear the masks!

The article on the front page says a first-term legislator convinced other lawmakers in our State House to ignore mask mandates. It wasn’t a lawmaker, politician or president who created …

Hug: Knights offer thanks for food donations

The Knights of Columbus, Our Lady of Lourdes Council 11809, and Valley View Community Food Bank thank all those who helped make the “Give From The Heart” food drive Feb. 13 for the local needy and hungry of the community such a success.

Wisnewski: Restrictions should stay in place in Sun City

This is in response to your story on changes sought for Lakeview park (“Changes sought for RCSC visitor restrictions,” Sun City Independent, Feb. 17, 2021).

O'Malley: Forming multiple friendships is beneficial

What is harsh? Are you emotional? Angered? Hurt? Embarrassed?

Skaggs: EPCOR is here to help you with your Sun City water issues

With many people still facing financial difficulties related to the coronavirus pandemic, it’s good to know there are programs available to help in 2021.

Hick: More positives to Sun City than written

Having lived in Sun City since 2004, I have seen and heard much that is good and some not so good.

Farris: Resident urges RCSC board to reconsider hosting Sun City vaccine

It’s a bit distressing that our administrators of the Sundial Center are relying on a principle of using a “recreation” clause to thwart the high public purpose of inoculating Sun City residence against COVID-19.

Dick: Local reps deserve respect

Mr. Shaw, your disgust with both Sen. Rick Gray and Rep. Kevin Payne (“Reader admits making error,” Sun City Independent, Feb. 3, 2021) is completely out of place.

Wilson: RCSC communication committee take on new ‘focus’ in Sun City

This year the Recreation Centers of Sun City Board of Directors repurposed one of our standing committees.
Leonard Kirschner poses near the canyon during a pre-pandemic visit to Grand Canyon National Park.

Kirschner: America’s national parks are calling, and you must go post-COVID-19

It was a year ago when COVID-19 struck and our world changed.

Graettinger: Sun City Posse takes pandemic seriously

The pandemic is a grave emergency that we at the Sun City Posse are serous-minded about.

Williamson: Walker thanks person who returned alert in Sun City

Several months ago I lost my medic alert bracelet on my morning walk.

Dumais: Sun City resident worries about access to restrooms at lake

This is an open letter to the Recreation Centers of Sun City management.

Holick: Sun City seniors need help with vaccinations

Super seniors need help in navigating the COVID-19 vaccine sign-ups.

Gerhart: How important is vitamin D in staying well?

Staying well requires a strong, balanced immune system combined with reducing exposure to pathogens.
Raoul Sada

Sada: 2021 brings opportunities for businesses

This is an open letter to all elected officials at the federal, state and local levels.

Depasquale: Do not pick fruit without permission in Sun City

Please ask before picking fruit off trees. At the corner of Camden Avenue and Cumberland Drive someone helped themselves to all the lemons off the tree on this corner house.

Mathewson: Shame on Sun City rec centers officials

The weekly Sun City Independent included an article (“RCSC will not pursue Sun City vaccination site,” Sun City Independent, Feb. 3, 2021) about the RCSC’s refusal to allow any of its recreation centers to be used as a point of distribution for COVID vaccinations.

Duncan: Census shows Sun City is going poor

The 2020 census for Sun City contains lots of interesting information. Visit worldpopulationreview.com/us-cities/sun-city-az-population.

Pates: Sun City does not compare to college town

This is in response to the letter about living on a golf course (“Living on course not what expected,” Sun City Independent, Jan. 27, 2021).

SCHOA, PORA working to protect Sun Cities residents

As the chairwoman of the Sun City Home Owners Association Government Affairs Committee it is my privilege to be a part of SCHOA’s advocacy efforts, particularly as they relate to utility rates.

Novess: Should have better way to pick state reps for Sun City

I feel compelled to respond to L Dick (“Payne is rep, did not run unopposed,” Sun City Independent, Jan. 27, 2021).

Hayes: Party hatred divides country

Sadly, the rhetoric coming from you in the letter (“Newspaper should report important items,” Sun City Independent, Jan. 20, 2021) in our local paper, I could hear you yelling.

Baxley: Resident agrees about media reporting in Sun City

This is a response to Jan Palson’s letter (“Newspaper should report important items,” Sun City Independent, Jan. 20, 2021).

Duter: Sun City Meals on Wheels off to new start

We began the new year with a new meal service provider.

Tracy: Why no COVID tests, shots in Sun City?

Why doesn’t Sun City ever get COVID-19 locations?

Duncan: Residents can get property tax refund in Sun Cities

The Mission of the Sun City Community Assistance Network is to, “Connect people with resources to enhance their standard of living.”

Cottrell: Living on course not what expected in Sun City

Just because you’re teeing off doesn’t mean you need to tee me off.

Dick: Payne is rep, did not run unopposed

Mr. Shaw, your lack of knowledge of the facts is showing (“Senator ignores those from other party,” Sun City Independent, Jan. 13, 2021).

Wilson: Looking forward to ‘normal’ in new year in Sun City

The year 2020 is finally behind us and many of us are filled with hope for good things in 2021.

Pan: Resident offers thanks for return of purse

On Sunday afternoon, Jan. 10, a kind and caring gentleman found my purse in the parking lot of Safeway in Sun City and turned it in to their customer service.

Crislip: Why older adults should set New Year's resolutions in Sun City

A new year brings new resolutions for many and those New Year’s resolutions could also lead to some health benefits.

Palson: Newspaper should focus on more important items in Sun City

I’m just stunned that you’ll use COVID in headlines to get attention but otherwise it’s business as usual — no big deal.

Spinka: Sun City reader did speak to driveway musical performers

I must respond to Mr. Broyles’ remarks (“Speak with those doing concerts first,” Sun City Independent, Jan. 6, 2021). I feel that they are degrading and insulting.

Matthies: New Year’s Day hole in one in Sun City

My wife and I live on the Palmbrook Country Club golf course and are accustomed to holiday duffers misdirecting their shots.

Mainz: Did not know frequency of train travel in Sun City

I am writing in response to a letter (“Buyers should know what they are getting,” Sun City Independent, Dec. 30, 2020) from Gib Foulke, which was blatantly uncivil.

Shaw: State legislator ignores those from other party

I know that the Sun Cities lean Republican and Kevin Payne ran an uncontested race for the state Senate so he feels that he can ignore Democratic residents in District 21 with impunity.

McDade: Comments by Sun City resident about Luke Air Force Base not meant to be serious

I was born and raised in Glendale, Mr. Foulke (“Buyers should know what they are getting,” Sun City Independent, Dec. 30, 2020), I’ve been in Sun City 15 years.
Thank You For Supporting Local Journalism