Opinions with Civility
Latest Opinions
In answer to a Sun City resident’s questions (“Is department merger really necessary?” Sun City West Independent, Sept. 21, 2022) regarding feasibility studies with the Arizona Fire & Medical Authority with Buckeye Valley and Sun City fire districts.
I am writing to you in response to Sandra Lena- Autry’s letter (“Objecting to continued fee increases,” Sun City West Independent, Aug. 17, 2022).
I read the front page article (“Rec centers cutting water use,” Sun City West Independent, Aug. 31, 2022).
Agriculture consumes about 74% of available water supply in Arizona, according to the Arizona Department of Water Resources website.
West Valley Opinions
I am a firm believer in the age 55 rules, and there should be no exceptions.
Once I heard it said that you can tell what a person is committed to by what they complain about.
I read the letter from Sandra Lena-Autry (“Objecting to continued fee increases,” Sun City West Independent, Aug. 17, 2022) and she is right about the increases every year.
It was impossible to ignore the juxtaposition of the letter to the editor from Cindy Brown (“Time to wake from slumber,” Sun City West Independent, Aug. 17, 2022) and the Civility guidelines that appeared on the very next page.
I wanted to first say the new road is beautiful.
East Valley Opinions
Your Community Your Voice
The palm trees located in the center median on R.H. Johnson Boulevard, just south of Meeker Boulevard.

Carey: Medians are embarrassment for visitors

The medians as Sun City West is entered from Grand Avenue is embarrassing to me when friends come to visit.

Duncan: Sun City CAN counselors help with Medicare

The Mission of the Sun City Community Assistance Network is to, “Connect people with resources to enhance their standard of living.”

Lee: Disappointed orange trees were removed

My husband and I have lived in Sun City West 23 years.

Kalb: Resident thanks letter writer for submission

Thank you, Mr. Robert L. Wheat, for taking time out of your life to write the letter (“Keep busy to stay healthy,” Sun City West Independent, Aug. 10, 2022).

Pfliiger: Artists happy to have local showcase

This is response to the letter written by Vincent Lynch (“PORA gallery not same as Village Store,” Sun City West Independent, Aug. 10, 2022).

Gagnon: Extra touches brought resident here

I bought a house in Sun City West because I loved extra touches, like the medians with palm trees and Arizona growth.

Muehlbauer: Palms make Sun City West special

The palm trees are just what makes this area different to others and nicer.

Putnam: Too bad facts weren’t gotten about gallery

This is in response to Vincent Lynch’s letter (“PORA gallery not same as Village Store,” Sun City West Independent, Aug. 10, 2022) on the del Sol Gallery vs. the Village Store.

Ramirez: Will others follow this example

I loved reading the article on the Benefitness gym and the Rock Steady Boxing (“Benevilla Benefitness gym opens, Sun City Independent, July 20, 2022).

Bakefield: Sun City must keep age limit intact

I have lived in Sun City since 1999 and love the age limit with no children and 55 and older, with 19-year-olds allowed, like my son who came to go to college.

Cowdrey: There will always be excuses

Interesting reading (“Beardsley project delay continues,” Sun City West Independent, July 27, 2022).

Abrami: Resident urges people read Marshall book

With all the perpetual discussion about the border, I strongly recommend people read “The Age of Walls” by Tim Marshall, dealing with border barriers of various types all over the world.
Javelina peccary found in the desert of Texas.

Welsher: Residents should not feed wildlife

It would be a wonderful idea and huge help to some of us in Sun City to (loudly, forcefully) remind residents not to feed the wild animals.

Depasquale: Why is center not getting attention?

In response to the article about conditions at Mountain View mini golf, I was under the impression that our yearly recreation fees that are paid are supposed to be for maintaining our facilities.

Potter: Protect your pets against attack

I’m disappointed, but not surprised, that I am writing this warning yet again.

Miller: Residents should not pay more

The golf courses should have a working system that favors residents for tee times.

Rolph: Overlay permit not dead issue, will repeat

As a Sun City resident, I am thrilled the underage application was denied by the Maricopa County Board of Adjustment.

Powell: Sun City needs more patrols on streets

In your article (“Overnight security to patrol centers,” Sun City Independent, June 22, 2022) you wrote concerning overnight patrols at two of the rec centers.

Bierdeman: SCHOA should look at options for infirm

I am a retired medical social worker, having worked in health care for 25 years with a predominant focus on geriatrics as it relates to client service needs and placement issues.

Owinell: Permits will destroy Sun City

Yes, I have an opinion on Maricopa County granting temporary-use permits to allow underage residents.

Everything you wanted to know about the World Series … but were afraid to ask

Imagine you’re at an outdoor dinner party (yes, COVID-friendly). It’s October, and the conversation steers towards the World Series. While you are generally culturally literate, you know …

Christensen: Health literacy more important than ever for Arizonans in ongoing COVID-19 crisis

The ongoing COVID-19 pandemic has impacted millions across the country, and Arizona has not been spared. This virus and its resulting economic fallout have put a harsh spotlight on rising health care …
Thank You For Supporting Local Journalism