Ask the Editor

What does the Aug. 4 election look like during COVID-19?

Deadline to register to vote: July 6

Posted 6/23/20

As Maricopa County gears up for an Aug. 4 primary election --- one that includes the election of several local leaders --- some slight changes have been announced to keep voters safe during COVID-19 …

To Our Valued Readers –

Visitors to our website will be limited to five stories per month unless they opt to subscribe.

For $5.99, less than 20 cents a day, subscribers will receive unlimited access to the website, including access to our Daily Independent e-edition, which features Arizona-specific journalism and items you can’t find in our community print products, such as weather reports, comics, crossword puzzles, advice columns and so much more six days a week.

Our commitment to balanced, fair reporting and local coverage provides insight and perspective not found anywhere else.

Your financial commitment will help to preserve the kind of honest journalism produced by our reporters and editors. We trust you agree that independent journalism is an essential component of our democracy. Please click here to subscribe.

Charlene Bisson, Publisher, Independent Newsmedia

Please log in to continue

Log in
I am anchor
Ask the Editor

What does the Aug. 4 election look like during COVID-19?

Deadline to register to vote: July 6


As Maricopa County gears up for an Aug. 4 primary election --- one that includes the election of several local leaders --- some slight changes have been announced to keep voters safe during COVID-19 and expand voting access.

The Aug. 4 primary election includes choosing municipal mayor and councilmembers and state representatives, while the Nov. 3 general election includes the U.S. president, federal, state, county and local offices.

The Maricopa County Elections Department has announced a revised election model, which includes access to 90-100 voting locations on Election Day.

These voting centers are located across the county, including on tribal land and in rural areas to ensure in-person voting is an option for all communities, the county record’s office states.

Additionally, polling locations will be open in phases before election day, including 50-60 locations open for at least two weeks --- and service is to include evening and weekend hours.

The early voting plan states polling locations will include 23 malls and retail facilities across the county, and some will be located near bus routes and public transportation.

Specific polling locations have not yet been announced.

The deadline to register to vote in the August primary election is Monday, July 6. Voters can also request a one-time or permanent ballot in the mail at Request.Maricopa.Vote.

The county election’s department also has outlined safety protocols for in-person voting, which includes space for physical distancing and heightened safety and cleaning measures, such as frequently cleaning high touch surfaces and disinfecting pens after each use.

Poll workers will wear gloves and masks, and will offer voters gloves when checking in.

The election’s department also has several online services available to Maricopa County residents, including checking voting status and seeing a sample ballot. Go to to use these services.

Arizona has an open primary election, which means a voter registered without a party preference can select a ballot for the Aug. 4 primary election.

Independent voters may choose Republican, Democratic or, when available, a city/town only ballot. For mail voters, make your choice at

If you vote in-person, make your request when you check-in at the polling location.

Across the county, 22 jurisdictions have elections this August. Scottsdale and Town of Paradise Valley will both be electing a mayor and three councilmembers.

For Scottsdale, there are nine people running for three open spaces on City Council: Michael Auerbach, Tammy Caputi, Bill Crawford, John Little, Kevin Maxwell, Becca Linnig, Betty Janik, Tom Durham and incumbent Guy Phillips.

The mayor’s race includes five individuals seeking the top spot: Lisa Borowsky, Bob Littlefield, David Ortega and incumbents Suzanne Klapp and Virginia Korte.

In Paradise Valley, Mayor Jerry Bien-Willner is running unopposed for a second two-year term. Four people are running for three Town Council seats: incumbents Julie Pace, Mark Stanton and Scott Moore, and newcomer Jonathan Wainwright.

Other names you’ll see on your ballot include federal, state and legislative elections.

U.S. Senator

Republican candidates are Daniel McCarthy, incumbent Martha McSally and write-in candidate Sean Lyons.

Democratic candidates are Mark Kelly and write-in candidate Bo Garcia.

For the Libertarian party, write-in candidate Alan White is running for U.S. Senator.

U.S. Representative

For Congressional District No. 6, which includes Paradise Valley, Scottsdale, Fountain Hills and Cave Creek, Republican David Schweikert is running for re-election. Democrats running for District No. 6 are Karl Gentles, Anita Malik, Stephanie Rimmer and Hiral Tipirneni.

Mr. Schweikert has been representing CD 6 since 2013.

Arizona House of Representatives

For the Arizona State Legislature, Scottsdale is split into Legislative Districts 23 and 24 --- with LD 24 representing the majority of the city.

Paradise Valley is in LD 28.

Two representatives are elected from each district for a term of two years.

In LD 23, the Republicans running are Joseph Chaplik and incumbents John Kavanagh and Jay Lawrence.

Eric Kurland is the only Democrat running for LD 23.

For LD 24, write-in candidate Republican David Alger Sr. is running. Meanwhile Democrats Jennifer Longdon and Amish Shah are running.

For Paradise Valley, Republicans Kenneth Bowers Jr. and Jana Jackson are running for LD 28; while Democrat incumbents Kelli Butler and Aaron Lieberman are running.

State Senator

In LD 23, Republicans Alexander Kolodin and incumbent Michelle Ugenti-Rita are running, while Democrats Seth Blattman is running with write-in candidate Brandon Donnelly.

In LD 24, Democrat Ryan Starzyk is running against Democrat incumbent Lela Alston.

Republican Kate Brophy McGee and Democrat Christine Marsh are running for LD 28.

Corporation Commission

Republicans running for the Arizona Corporation Commission are Lea Peterson Marquez, Eric Sloan, and write-in candidate James O’Connor.

Democrats running for the Arizona Corporation Commission are William Mundell, Shea Stanfield and Anna Tovar.