Roots N’ Boots Queen Creek Rodeo pays out $33,055

Independent Newsmedia
Posted 3/25/20

Winners of the March 13-15 Roots N’ Boots Queen Creek Rodeo shared a combined payout of $33,055, according to official results from the Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association.

That’s …

To Our Valued Readers –

Visitors to our website will be limited to five stories per month unless they opt to subscribe.

For $5.99, less than 20 cents a day, subscribers will receive unlimited access to the website, including access to our Daily Independent e-edition, which features Arizona-specific journalism and items you can’t find in our community print products, such as weather reports, comics, crossword puzzles, advice columns and so much more six days a week.

Our commitment to balanced, fair reporting and local coverage provides insight and perspective not found anywhere else.

Your financial commitment will help to preserve the kind of honest journalism produced by our reporters and editors. We trust you agree that independent journalism is an essential component of our democracy. Please click here to subscribe.

Charlene Bisson, Publisher, Independent Newsmedia

Please log in to continue

Log in
I am anchor

Roots N’ Boots Queen Creek Rodeo pays out $33,055


Winners of the March 13-15 Roots N’ Boots Queen Creek Rodeo shared a combined payout of $33,055, according to official results from the Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association.

That’s up from the March 15-17, 2019 rodeo that had a combined payout of $32,079; and the March 16-18, 2018, rodeo with $29,721, according to

The winners are:

  • All-around cowboy: Curtis Cassidy, $959, tie-down roping and steer wrestling.
  • Bareback riding: First place, Kyle Charley, 85.5 points on Salt River Rodeo’s Grit Your Teeth, $666; second place, Bronc Marriott, 80, $499; third place, Earl Tsosie Jr., 79.5, $333; and fourth place, Rio Lee, 78, $166.
  • Steer wrestling: First place, Curtis Cassidy, 4.5 seconds, $959; second place, Dean McIntyre, 4.6, $719; third place, McLane Arballo, 4.7, $479; and fourth place, Newt Novich, 5.1, $240.
  • Team roping: First place, (tie) Derrick Begay/Ty Romo and Pedro Egurrola/Trevor Nowlin, 4.6 seconds, $1,401 each; third place, Dawson Lackey/Victor Aros, 5.4, $1,005; fourth place, Jeff Flenniken/Jake Minor, 5.5, $740; fifth place, Tyler Montano/Justin Rockhill, 5.9, $476; and sixth place, Corey Whinnery/Cody Hill, 6.4, $264.
  • Saddle bronc riding: First place, Taos Muncy, 85 points on Salt River Rodeo’s Black Widow, $816; second place, Quintin McWhorter, 81.5, $612; third place, Leon Fountain, 80.5, $408; and fourth place, Jace Blackwell, 77, $204.
  • Tie-down roping: First place, Kyle Lucas, 8.4 seconds, $1,147; second place, Luke Jeffries, 8.8, $860; third place, John P. Etcheverry, 8.9, $573; and fourth place, Dean Holyan, 9.0, $287.
  • Barrel racing: First place, Haley Wolfe, 16.47 seconds, $1,235; second place, Laura Carmen, 16.56, $1,058; third place, Lori Todd, 16.68, $882; fourth place, Tara Seaton, 16.71, $764; 5. Sharon Harrell, 16.74, $588; sixth place, April Gomez, 16.76, $470; seventh place, (tie) Shelby Bates and Lacy Wilson, 16.77, $294 each; ninth place, Marcia Fuller, 16.80, $176; and 10th place, Kim Macrae, 16.81, $118.
  • Bull riding: First place, Tyler Bingham, 92 points on Salt River Rodeo’s Pistol Whip, $1,611; second place, (tie) Scottie Knapp and Parker McCown, 86, $1,050 each; fourth place, Colby Demo, 85, $586; fifth place, Riker Carter, 84.5, $342; sixth place, Wesley Pablo, 80, $244.

The stock contractor was Salt River Rodeo. The rodeo secretary was Sherry Rice-Gibson. Other rodeo representatives were:

  • Officials: Curtis Jessee and Terry Cooke.
  • Timers: Mary Borgen and Nancy Dorenkamp.
  • Announcer: Dan Fowlie.
  • Specialty acts: Bailey Gabel, Jennifer Nicholson and Bec Circosta.
  •  Bullfighters: Luke Kraut and Clifford Maxwell.
  • Clown/barrelman: Cody Sosebee.
  • Flankmen: Kaylee Billingsley, Jerry Dorenkamp and Cody Resor.
  •  Chute boss: Jerry Dorenkamp.
  • Pickup men: Cody Resor and Tanner Resor.
  •  Photographer: Brooks Benjamin.
  •  Music director: Chuck Lopeman.