Litchfield Park incumbents retain City Council seats

Posted 8/7/20

It looks like there won’t be a runoff in Litchfield Park’s City Council race and incumbents Ron Clair, Ann Donahue and John Romack will retain their seats.

To Our Valued Readers –

Visitors to our website will be limited to five stories per month unless they opt to subscribe.

For $5.99, less than 20 cents a day, subscribers will receive unlimited access to the website, including access to our Daily Independent e-edition, which features Arizona-specific journalism and items you can’t find in our community print products, such as weather reports, comics, crossword puzzles, advice columns and so much more six days a week.

Our commitment to balanced, fair reporting and local coverage provides insight and perspective not found anywhere else.

Your financial commitment will help to preserve the kind of honest journalism produced by our reporters and editors. We trust you agree that independent journalism is an essential component of our democracy. Please click here to subscribe.

Charlene Bisson, Publisher, Independent Newsmedia

Please log in to continue

Log in
I am anchor

Litchfield Park incumbents retain City Council seats

[Submitted photos]

It looks like there won’t be a runoff in Litchfield Park’s City Council race and incumbents Ron Clair, Ann Donahue and John Romack will retain their seats.

While she hadn’t yet received a final tally from the Maricopa County Elections Department and results are unofficial until the Board of Supervisors certifies the vote next week, City Clerk Terri Roth said Friday morning, Aug. 7 that all four candidates vying for three open seats on the Litchfield Park City Council received a qualifying majority of votes cast Tuesday, Aug. 4.

“It appears there will be no runoff,” Ms. Roth said. “Although all of them received a qualifying majority, only the three candidates who receive the highest number of valid votes cast are elected.” To be elected outright without facing a runoff, a candidate must receive a majority of all of the legal votes cast — calculated through a mathematical formula.

As of 5:16 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 6, the department had counted 2,112 Litchfield Park ballots.

Ms. Donahue was the top vote-getter with 1,572 votes (32%), followed by Ron Clair with 1,317 votes (26%) and John Romack with 1,293 votes (26%). Challenger Kerry Murphy Giangobbe had 797 votes (16%).

“We are glad that we kept our team together. It’s great to have such a variety of expertise on one council,” Ms. Donahue said Friday. “We are very lucky in Litchfield Park, that so many qualified individuals volunteer their time. We love our village.”

Mr. Clair, who was appointed to the council last fall after long-time councilman Peter Mahoney resigned, said he is excited at the outcome.

“Happy to be able continue to work on the planned projects,” he said.

“I appreciate the family and friends in Litchfield Park and look forward to continuing to serve another four years,” Mr. Romack said.

Ms. Giangobbe said Friday she was disappointed that she didn’t win but she wishes the incumbents well and will continue to stay involved in Litchfield Park issues.

“I believe in the power of one individual to make a difference,” she said. “I think I did in this particular race, win or lose.”

The county Board of Supervisors is expected to canvass the election Friday, Aug. 14. Once the canvass is complete, the election results will become final.

Litchfield Park’s city charter calls for a seven-member council consisting of six councilmembers elected at large for staggered, four-year terms, and a mayor elected separately to a four-year term.

There are no term limits, and Litchfield Park municipal elections are non-partisan