Log in

Scottsdale REALTORS’ leaders, members get recognition

Posted 11/21/19

The Scottsdale Area Association of REALTORS 2020 Installation and Awards Ceremony was filled with speeches and a congratulatory champagne toast.

You must be a member to read this story.

Join our family of readers for as little as $5 per month and support local, unbiased journalism.

Already have an account? Log in to continue.

Current print subscribers can create a free account by clicking here

Otherwise, follow the link below to join.

To Our Valued Readers –

Visitors to our website will be limited to five stories per month unless they opt to subscribe. The five stories do not include our exclusive content written by our journalists.

For $6.99, less than 20 cents a day, digital subscribers will receive unlimited access to YourValley.net, including exclusive content from our newsroom and access to our Daily Independent e-edition.

Our commitment to balanced, fair reporting and local coverage provides insight and perspective not found anywhere else.

Your financial commitment will help to preserve the kind of honest journalism produced by our reporters and editors. We trust you agree that independent journalism is an essential component of our democracy. Please click here to subscribe.

Charlene Bisson, Publisher, Independent Newsmedia

Please log in to continue

Log in
I am anchor

Scottsdale REALTORS’ leaders, members get recognition


The Scottsdale Area Association of REALTORS 2020 Installation and Awards Ceremony was filled with speeches and a congratulatory champagne toast.

Arizona Women’s Council of REALTORS President Elizabeth Ortega toasted the occassion, according to a press release detailing the installation and awards ceremony.

National Association of REALTORS 2018 President Elizabeth Mendenhall spent her day speaking at various engagements and events at the Scottsdale Area Association of REALTORS on Nov. 20.

She  answered questions about recent NAR policy updates and shared insight from her 23 years as a broker at the SAAR’s Quarterly Broker Breakfast, then addressed a crowd during a “Journey to Leadership” presentation that included state and local association presidents’ panels.

Ms. Mendenhall  installed SAAR’s 2020 Officers: president, Sindy Ready; president-elect Louis McCall; vice president, Sandy Lunsford; Treasurer Paul Baker; directors, Michael Gant, Jan Green, Christopher Karas, Chris Nace, Peggy Neely, Lisa Roberts and Angela Zampino; plus affiliate director, Fletcher Wilcox.

Ms. Mendenhall noted Ms. Ready’s service as president of the Women’s Council of REALTORS.

“Serving in that national position, positions you to lead this association -- in one of the fastest growing states in our country -- in a market that seems to be the test case for every type of business model and new invention in the real estate industry that we might see,” Ms. Mendenhall said.

Later, at the association’s installation and awards recognition program, SAAR 2019 President David Schmid honored emeritus members Josephine Briskin, Melvin Comstock, R.C. Duke DeBernardi, D. Deems Dickinson, Thomas Mason, Jeffrey McDowell and Dan Simpson . 

SAAR CEO Rebecca Grossman recognized Leadership Academy Class 23 graduates Stephanie Barber, Aaron Benson, Aaron Bils, Polly Blackwell, Alicia Borg, Allison Cahill, Riley Cilley, Jessica Curtis, Lindsay Fricks, Stephanie Greenfield, Eileen Harris, Allie Jennings, Winnie Kaplan, Ashley Krolak, Stefanie Lugo, Rebecca Niessink, Brad Phillips and Kerry Tishuck.

Awards were presented to Affiliate of the Year Mary Boyan Slakey, Emerging REALTOR of the Year Stefanie Lugo, REALTOR of the Year D. Patrick Lewis, Citizen of the Year Gerd Wuestemann, president/CEO at Scottsdale Arts.

Jeff Fields received The Good Neighbor Award for his role in teen suicide prevention, the release added.