August Primary Election results in Arizona

Independent Newsmedia
Posted 8/4/20

Aug. 4, 2020 is Primary Election Day in Arizona. Follow the results of several races here.

To Our Valued Readers –

Visitors to our website will be limited to five stories per month unless they opt to subscribe.

For $5.99, less than 20 cents a day, subscribers will receive unlimited access to the website, including access to our Daily Independent e-edition, which features Arizona-specific journalism and items you can’t find in our community print products, such as weather reports, comics, crossword puzzles, advice columns and so much more six days a week.

Our commitment to balanced, fair reporting and local coverage provides insight and perspective not found anywhere else.

Your financial commitment will help to preserve the kind of honest journalism produced by our reporters and editors. We trust you agree that independent journalism is an essential component of our democracy. Please click here to subscribe.

Charlene Bisson, Publisher, Independent Newsmedia

Please log in to continue

Log in
I am anchor

August Primary Election results in Arizona


Aug. 4, 2020 is Primary Election Day in Arizona. Follow the results of several races here.

You can also visit the Maricopa County Elections Department or the Arizona Secretary of State Office for more results.

Visit's various city and town pages for local elections coverage.

All results below are unofficial until the Secretary of State and County Recorder officially canvass all ballots. Last update 10:55 a.m. Aug. 5.

Percent: Percent of votes; Number in parentheses: Number of votes

Maricopa County

Maricopa County Sheriff’s Office

Democratic Race

Paul Penzone - 100%

Republican Race

Joe Arpaio - 36% (133,817)

Jerry Sheridan - 37% (134,389)

Mike Crawford - 26%

Maricopa County Attorney’s Office

Democratic Race

Julie Gunnigle - 60%

Robert McWhirter - 18%

Will Knight - 22%

Republican Race

Allister Adel - 100%

Maricopa County Assessor Office

Democratic Race

Aaron Connor - 100%

Republican Race

Eddie Cook - 52% (172,619)

Rodney Glassman - 48% (157,135)

Maricopa County Recorder

Republican Race

Stephen Richer - 57%

Clair Van Steenwyk - 43%

Democratic Race

Adrian Fontes - 100%

Arizona Senate

Legislative District 15 Republican Race

Nancy Barto - 51.6% (14,868)

Heather Carter - 48.4% (13,933)

Legislative District 22 Republican Race

David Livingston - 68.5%

Hop Nguyen - 19.5%

Arizona House

Legislative District 8

David Cook - 35.9%

Frank Pratt - 32.12%

Neal Carter - 31.98%

US Senate

Republican Race

Martha McSally - 76.2% - AP projected winner

Daniel McCarthy - 23.8%

Democratic Race

Mark Kelly - 100%

US House


Republican Race

Paul Gosar - 62.75% - AP projected winner

Anne Marie Ward - 37.25%


Democratic Race

Hiral Tipirneni - 53.59% - AP projected winner

Anita Malik - 36.13%

Karl Gentles - 4.49%

Stephanie Rimmer - 5.78%

Republican Race

David Schweikert - 100%


Democratic Race

Michael Muscato - 53.8% - AP projected winner

Bob Musselwhite - 31.47%

Robert Olsen - 14.73%

Republican Race

Debbie Lesko - 100%