Central Arizona College recognizes outstanding students during virtual awards ceremony


Central Arizona College, faculty, staff and students gathered around their computers to recognize students for their outstanding academic and co-curricular achievements during a special virtual awards ceremony on May 4.

Following is a listing of the award recipients:

  • Dennis Adams, Student Veteran of the Year
  • Aidan Altamirano, Excellence in English and Literature
  • Mark Anthony Aragon, EIT Academic Excellence Award
  • Regalado Banda, Tutor of the Year-SPC
  • Conway Barnes, Student Leader of the Year
  • Anne Bell, Outstanding Phi Theta Kappa Officer
  • Justin Borchard, Outstanding Pipe Welding Student
  • Morgan Bray, Excellence in English
  • Demetria Carter, Outstanding Phi Theta Kappa Officer
  • Tisha Castillo, Outstanding Honors Student
  • Katelyn Davidson Excellence in Literature
  • RaeAnna DeJong, Outstanding Math Student Award
  • Royce Downing, Outstanding Math Student Award
  • John Engstrom, Business Student of the Year
  • Jacob Farrow, Outstanding Phi Theta Kappa Officer
  • Martha Fous,t Excellence in English
  • Sonia Guevara, Emerging ECE Professional
  • Jonathan Holt, Excellence in Psychology
  • Timothy Jaramillo, First Year Student of the Year
  • Byron Kouris, Student Leader of the Year and Outstanding Phi Theta Kappa Officer
  • Francisco Kramer, Outstanding Structural Welding Student
  • Aren Lampman, Outstanding Math Student Award
  • Nubia Lara, Outstanding Health Information Management Student
  • Michaela Laughlin, Student Employee of the Year
  • Billy Lawson, Excellence in Welding
  • Joelle Legare, Outstanding Biological Science
  • Jacob Long, Computer Technology Student of the Year
  • Renea Mason-Snodgrass, Cheryl Foster Outstanding Early Childhood Education Student
  • Jacob McKeon, Student Athlete of the Year
  • Leigh Ann Mercury, First Year Student of the Year
  • Alexsondra Nathan, First Year Student of the Year
  • Bryan Williams Paulsen, Excellence in Literature
  • Kenya Payne, Administration of Justice Leadership Award
  • Laura Pierce, Tutor of the Year – San Tan Campus
  • Adam Swanson, Outstanding Engineering Student
  • Candida Upton, Excellence in Psychology
  • Skyler Wyly, Outstanding Honors Student

About CAC

For 50 years, Central Arizona College has been serving and educating the diverse communities of Pinal County.

With five campuses and three centers located throughout the county, CAC provides accessible, educational, economic, cultural, and personal growth opportunities for those of all ages.

Go to centralaz.edu.

Editor's note: Angela Askey is CAC's executive director of public relations and marketing.